How to deal with

A thought popped into my head last night and it was how am I going to cope if/when one of my parents died.

I say if/when because I do not like the idea that they might die, but living with partner who at the age of 34 is an orphan, I have to face up to reality that maybe my parents wont live forever, which for the record is very selfish of them.

I am not sure why this thought popped into my head, it is pretty morbid even for me. But I think the reason is, I don’t deal with loss well, and with a death of someone like my parents I wonder if that may push me over the edge.

Well hopefully I wont be finding out for a very long time

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How to deal with

  1. ellenbest24 says:

    I hope you don’t but as sure as eggs is up chickens bums
    we all go one sad dark day the time it comes.
    Be prepared and make the most of each moment you have. 😇

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is great advice, thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • ellenbest24 says:

        I wasn’t ready I never was
        When Dad dipaseared, off to OZ
        We knew he’d go one dark day
        But not when I had come to stay.

        He’s no longer there to wipe my eyes
        No more eating home cooked pies.
        Try as I might I could not defend
        My Father I could not mend.

        But me alas, no way could I be prepared
        To loose the life that we always shared.
        Your never ready not built to say adios
        Now i learn to live with the greatest loss.

        Dad passed away at 84 yrs October 4th 2014, I had gone up for the weekend. As a child he would do the vanishing coin trick and I would say “look Daddy it’s dipaseared. Memories like this keep him near. 😇

        Liked by 1 person

  2. akiwifreund says:

    The cycle of life and death is rarely talked about, and it’s certainly not pleasant to contemplate either. The best gift you can give another soul is that for at least one shining moment in time, your parents and your partner know that you love them deeply, either by word or by deed. Also know when it’s time to tell them that they no longer need to stay in their bodies if the suffering is too great. BTW, my dad died when I was 22; he was immediately preceded by his sister and his mom. Within this year I’ve had to say goodbye to my sister and my friend, and I know that my uncle and my grandma don’t have long on this earth. My grandpa has defied all odds and his 104th birthday will be in April if nothing changes between now and then.

    There is no shame in grief, and there is no time limit in grief.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree its not talked about a lot and I think it should be, I am so sorry you have had to deal with all of that. I have lost all of my grandparents but am greatful still to have my parents

      Liked by 1 person

      • akiwifreund says:

        Thank you. I honestly can’t tell you what’s “better” to deal with – sudden death or lingering death with pain – because it just sucks. It just does. And things always happen out of order. And big life events tend to either bring out the absolute best or worst in other people. My advice is to just focus on the love.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My partner watched his mother die of an asthma attack at the age of 5 and his father died of a sudden heart attack, a few years ago, so we have dealt with sudden. My Gran, had alzheimers was physically was as strong as an ox and so it was a very painful five years, but you are right either way it sucks and while I don’t want to linger on the subject I feel that at times it is good to talk about.
        Also amazing advice 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. ellenbest24 says:

    Your post is good it makes people speak and many just do not know how to. We need to teach our children that it is a natural thing then maybe it will be easier for them. 😇

    Liked by 1 person

  4. momterry says:

    Well I can tell you I have experienced this first hand. I was 31 when I lost my dad. It was heart wrenching and such a shock. To get that dreaded phone call was mind blowing. My dad was only 52 when he flew away but you know what he lived each moment of each day to the fullest. He always said ” Life is an adventure enjoy the Ride.” SO my words to you are enjoy every moment you have and when the time comes you will be fine.. Its a day to day struggle for me some days but after 29 years now I can say I am fine..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I lost my dad in 2012. He had not been doing well, so it was not a surprise. But it was still awful. My parents were married for 45 years when Dad passed away. It was difficult for me to think about how I felt because I knew how hard it was for my mom. My dad and I were never as close as I am with my mom. I think part of what I felt when he died was regret. But I was there when he needed me and he knew I loved him. What scares me is losing my mom — I cannot imagine what it will be like without her. I usually remain in denial that she’ll ever be gone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

