Reviews

A friend asked me the other day why I didn’t do reviews on my blog. I asked her exactly what should a mainly mental health blog review? Medication?

Could you imagine it? Today I have been sent 3mg of x drug which we shall be trying for a month.

Day 1, today me and the dog went for a walk I haven;t noticed anything different but don’t for at least 2 weeks

Day 15 Today me and my unicorn went for a walk, the drugs still aren’t working.

So she said what about restaurants, clubs, pubs and such like, before I could come back with a suitable sarcastic comment (damn her) she went on to say as in how they cater for mental health disabilities.

Now this has put me in a quandary, because I do believe those with mental health disabilities should be treated the same as those with physical disabilities, where does it stop?

For me to be comfortable in a restaurant I would have to be placed in a separate room, away from the other customers where I could feel comfortable and the serving staff not to speak to me.

What do you think? For me personally I think we should make sure the physical disabilities things are put in place. Ramps, menus in large, making sure the hearing loop is on that sort of thing.

 

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Reviews

  1. Deb says:

    You know I would read your blog even if all you reviewed was toilet paper…so it’s a no brainer. Last year saw my office complex building ramps and making it user friendly for persons with physical disabilities. I thought it was the right call even though we don’t have any employee that I know of with physical disabilities.
    As for the mental part…I’m just glad I can go around all day working in the lab with my earphones in place to block everyone else out when I feel the need. I don’t think I would cope if they took that away.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you. That sort of review is more my partner. I get the wrong toilet paper and there is hell to pay, it has to be the right smoothness, thickness blah, blah, blah, never mind the other one was on offer ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I certainly do think its the right call for physically disabilities but then where would you draw the line at mental disabilities

      Like

  2. Becky says:

    The whole Let’s review new medication sounds entertaining, until it’s not. As someone who can never take “the gold standard” medications for bipolar disorder, my reviews would be completely unreliable. But can you even imagine? LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tikeetha T says:

    LOL. You and a unicorn went for a walk? I spit my water out on that one.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. ellenbest24 says:

    At this moment in time ( cos you just never know) I don’t have a mental health problem. But I frequently think I am a unicorn, that is probably because I write… I do however find your posts refreshing, honest and funny. I haven’t been for a walk with you though… have I?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. garym6059 says:

    Go for it! I think it’s a great idea for you to do reviews catered around mental health and the challenges that others don’t see.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Izrael says:

    I don’ t possibly see how it would work if a blog was to review about mental illness. It’s not something easy to give feedbacks on. Instead, I think that sharing what we went through as an individuals and giving support to others would suffice. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Maybe you could write a short blurb about the links you share? That would make me check them out, I think, but with so many & no info, I haven’t bothered to click on any.
    Just a thought!
    Peace, love & good mental health to all,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel โ€œSecrets & Lies in El Salvadorโ€ is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
    http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
    Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

