Good morning you beautiful bastard

Literally out of desperation last night, I stayed up from 9pm on Sunday till 7pm on Monday, it hit 7pm and boom I am wide awake, so another 2 hours later, I drag myself to bed. Another half an hour of being awake and I wake up at 3am. I vaguely remember waking up a few times through out that period, but we are talking seconds.

Five and a half hours of sleep, at night. I will take that, and I do feel better for it.

Its going to be a long haul of getting this sleep pattern right and while the crushing depression has lifted, I am not the happy sod I usually am. Its still there with the depression. But I do feel better,

Thank you to everyone for the well wishes on my last post. I am going to be coming in more frequently, I think part of my problem is that I am pushing myself too hard to do things. I know my mum probably wouldn’t agree with me πŸ˜‰ (my lounge is still a shit tip)

I think the most important thing, to do now is to keep a routine around sleeping. I wake up, I am up so I am off to have a coffee and start my day (at 4am)

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Good morning you beautiful bastard

  1. It’s never easy to come out of a depression phase. I found that going to bed early never helped as I would often lie awake then, like you, catch a few hours interrupted sleep. When the manic phase kicks in I achieved so much with very little or no sleep. Only to find that when I crashed again I would sleep for days at a time, vicious cycle. I’ve never taken meds during the up times because I don’t need them then. I’m on meds for the down times to stop them being so low which seem to lower my energy during the up times, before I had a job I would stop taking my meds until I crashed to achieve loads while in a manic phase but the crash would always come. I’ve forgotten what my point was now, Anyhoo good morning and I hope you get things into perspective and can handle the downs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KraftedKhaos says:

    Good morning! This post sounds a bit more hopeful than the last, I’m happy to see.

    One thing that may help is creating a ‘before bed ritual’… this may help train your mind to sleep when it is supposed to. This could entail washing your face, brushing your teeth, laying out your clothes for the next day, making a to-do list for the next day (I have heard this helps your mind release these things from its ‘worry pile’), reading 1 chapter in a book (a real book, as the light from tv, cell phones, and other electronics can stop your brain from going into ‘sleep mode’), or mentally listing ten things from the day that you are grateful for… you get the idea.

    I am so glad to hear that your depression has eased some!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only briefly saw your other post from Facebook, but I’m so glad you finally got some sleep. When things get really screwed up, either physically or mentally, it is so hard to get them back on track! I don’t struggle with the same things as you do, but similar and can understand where you’re coming from. I hope things continue to stabilize for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lydslifesite says:

    Love your honesty πŸ’• sending you good and positive vibes x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

